Me and a black cat

me and a black cat
met eye to eye
midday

the sun was high
but his eyes shined
with translucent green light

he made me stop
hold my breath
hesitate

but so did he
we stood entranced
by each other’s curiosity

now he waits for me to cross
maybe he feels
my fears

I move on but look back
he stops and looks
knows I’m there

with his soft black paw
suspended mid-air
about to cross

an iron gate
with fluid grace
I look away – I let you go

black cat
with translucent green eyes
we saw spirit in each other in broad daylight

Namaste friends. From my spirit to yours. Knowing no words.

Leave a Reply

