Me and my true self –

into the world I went
with my true self
holding hands

among shadows I slept
of ancient trees
faithfully

guarding me
on life’s journey
through thick and thin

through my story of pauper and king
keeping me here so long
I didn’t know

where I came from anymore –
they were tall and they swayed
whispering this time I heard them say

follow your heart
the path will open up –
I listened and I went deeper still

shedding shadows I’ve worn
like trees do leaves, with a kind loving heart
I see me and my true self, holding hands – and light

Leave a Reply

